Hello There

Since my last post I managed to read all thirteen “That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime” light novels (Written by Fuse, Illustrated by Mitz Vah) and despite what you may think these light novels are pretty word dense–so I am proud of myself that I managed to read (even if it isn’t a book a day as it was in my youth). I just started “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West” (Gregory Maguire) and am working my way through it. I also managed to embroil myself deeper into Critical Role, start DMing a new (Dungeons & Dragons 5E) campaign for a group of my friends, and put “The Girl who would be King” back on the back burner. I have also developed a new obsession with Survive Said the Prophet (a Japanese rock band) and to a lesser extent STEREO DIVE FOUNDATION. (Admittedly that means I’m on a J-Rock kick rather than K-Pop for the time being).

Also Kitakaze no Yakusoku//Promise of the North Wind is back off to a (somewhat stuttering) start (Mother Roshiya is still battling a lot of real life and mental demons). We’re working really hard to make this work, but it’s probably going to be touch and go until things settle down one way or another.

I made my Camp Nanowrimo goal of 25,000 words (I got started about mid-month because I got stuck on something else) as of April 25th–though I am writing Shadows of Kurelinn Book One (“Shade Tree Rest” or “Seventh Concord”–one of those two titles, I’m currently wavering) instead of “The Girl who would be King” or “Ashigo’s Shadow”–I may try and pick GK or AS up for Camp Nanowrimo in July, we’ll see where my brain is going then or I’ll just keep writing Dungeons & Dragons. There is something oddly relaxing about writing something that I can be as over-the-top or silly with as I want and if I can’t decide what to do next…roll a D20. I can also use it to practice writing a lot of different things ranging from description to battles to character voice.

Currently in AZ we’re heading into summer and 100+F weather, my most hated time of the year. Some years, like this year, I intend to bury myself in projects to try and avoid the usual seasonal listlessness and depression that comes with it (other years I play video games non-stop if I’m not at work or trying to sleep). For now I intend to continue writing about the adventures of Summer Forrest vs the Seventh Concord which, more or less, boils down to a Level 20 Character Legendary Adventure vs a bunch of the biggest BBEGs in D & D (including ancient chromatic dragons, witch queens, death knights, beholders, and demons).

I’m working on a couple things behind the scenes (possibly a website, maybe a YT and/or Twitch Channel, and things along those lines–who knows), but I’m going to work on blogging more too.

So hello and welcome (and if you’ve been here a while, good to see you).

♥ Myriai

Author: Myriai

I am a Dungeons & Dragons playing, anime watching, book reading, Star Wars loving being of the female variety. I am a writer and an artist (not very good, but I try really hard), and I've loved fantasy and sci-fi in many of its facets since I was about nine years old. I am the writer and storyboard artist for Kitakaze no Yakusoku//Promise of the North Wind and run the blog Myriai's Myriad of Worlds. You can find me on Facebook, Instagram, Bluesky, & Twitter @Myriai. Picture credit: Christina Lopez-Hidalgo (Mother Roshiya Productions)

Leave a comment