The Shadow of Summer

Though I pass through the Valley of the Shadow of Summer, I fear no words for I shall write again.

It’s been a rough summer here in AZ–almost every day in July was 110+(F). We only just got a couple of our usual monsoon storms about a week ago (usually late at night and completely drying out before 6 AM the next day). My usual summer slump kicked in super early this year (like the middle of May instead of the end of June, early July–I’m usually good until after July 4 before things really fall apart). As a result I’ve spent a lot of time in Hyrule (Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (beat it with lots of help), currently working through Tears of the Kingdom) and on a new Animal Crossing Island because apparently my distraction this summer was video games. On the bright side, my focus on Legend of Zelda opened an opportunity to spend a lot of quality time with my niece (who loves Zelda) and it’s been a lot of fun. On the down side, that writing thing…haven’t done it (seriously) in probably three or four months, though, to be honest, the entirety of 2023 hasn’t had nearly enough writing involved.

Though for all that the summer slump started early, it’s apparently ending a bit earlier than usual too (it’s usually mid-September, early-October before my mind starts pulling itself out). As a result, you get this lovely blog entry in August–kind of impressive in its own way given my track record on various sites/blogs I’ve done over the years (most of which no longer exist). Usually there’s a post in June (if I’m lucky) then there is nothing until maybe October or even sometimes January. Then I post once a month (or try to) from January until June then nothing again. Though I actually have organized/clean/neat spaces this year and don’t have to spend the first month out of the Summer Slump getting those in order this time.

I’m not entirely sure I’m out of the valley of the shadow of summer, but I am starting to turn my attention to my various projects and ideas that were gathering dust for the last several months. I’m not sure I’m going to pull anything good creatively out of the wasteland 2023 turned into, but at least I can plant some seeds to make 2024 bloom (or so the theory goes).

To that end I’m putting my various projects in order of some form and maybe I’ll actually get some work done on and off on them. For the curious, I currently have four(ish) projects going that I’m hoping are going to break out in 2024 (they won’t be finished, but solidly started):

  1. Shadows of Kurelinn–for reference, this is the D & D inspired story I’ve mentioned a few different times. What am I going to do with it? I’m going to turn it into a YT channel. I’m going to write the chapters and read them (and practice voice acting and maybe drawing as it progresses–I don’t plan to make either a career, but it’s something I want to do) and touch on other fantasy/sci-fi/writing related topics, but that’s something to discuss later (maybe even next month).
  2. Ashes of Hanazakari–otherwise known as “The Girl who would be King” (the first novel of the series) will hopefully start picking up steam again. It’s actually the current catalyst for me starting to break out of my creative drought and the reason I’m here writing this blog entry instead of shaking wasps out of the trees on my ACNH Island or trying to find the Bubbulfrog in the latest cave I discovered in Tears of the Kingdom. Though actually I am working on Pact of the Nightingale–the story that comes 1,000 years before Amaia flees Aluaria on Winternight–but writing is writing and I’m glad to at least mostly be back at it.
  3. The Imperium Chronicles–this is a series of novels that begins with “Ashigo’s Shadow” and moving on from there, I’m hoping to pull this one out of the folder its been moldering in and get a few more details hammered out so I can make some good progress. I found a book at the grocery store yesterday I may actually try and read because the little excerpts and stuff I read of it sound a lot like the tone I’m going for in Harmony’s story–at least to an extent. ISC is definitely more of an adult bent in terms of violence and other aspects.
  4. Kitakaze no Yakusoku//Promise of the North Wind–yep, the comic is still going though there have been some bumps here and there because two creative types with various mental issues (diagnosed and undiagnosed) sometimes run into production problems. After 2-3 years–we think we’re making a breakthrough on how to go about being more consistent and hoping it pans out.

Naturally, all of this is going to be kinda scattered (at least until the end of September) as I have to take care of some stuff for the job that currently pays the bills, but at least I’ll have a starting point.

However, I’m back in the saddle and here’s hoping to make some breakthroughs on actually being consistent about more than just finding Dr. Pepper in my fridge.

♥ ~ Myriai

Author: Myriai

I am a Dungeons & Dragons playing, anime watching, book reading, Star Wars loving being of the female variety. I am a writer and an artist (not very good, but I try really hard), and I've loved fantasy and sci-fi in many of its facets since I was about nine years old. I am the writer and storyboard artist for Kitakaze no Yakusoku//Promise of the North Wind and run the blog Myriai's Myriad of Worlds. You can find me on Facebook, Instagram, Bluesky, & Twitter @Myriai. Picture credit: Christina Lopez-Hidalgo (Mother Roshiya Productions)

Leave a comment